Pastor Parking

Nothing like a good (or bad) church sign.

This is how we see Sunday morning service at this church:

Ladies and gentlemen, today I want to talk to you about following Christ’s example of putting others before yourself.

In John 13:14-17 Jesus says, “Now that I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also should wash one another’s feet. I have set you an example that you should do as I have done for you. I tell you the truth, no servant is greater than his master, nor is a messenger greater than the one who sent him. Now that you know these things, you will be blessed if you do them.

If Christ did, so should we.

Oh….and before I forget – Could whoever drives the Blue Honda Accord please stop parking in my reserved parking space.

26 Responses to “Pastor Parking”

  1. You can only hope that sign is across the street from the church behind the 7-11… Bu something tells me no…

  2. Wonder how the interview with the Pastor went…

    Pastor Smith, what kinds of things would you like to do here?

    I see us really getting outside the walls of the church and into the community. We’ll show them that’s it’s not about us, its about Jesus. We’ll lead by example.

    By the way, I’ll need a reserved parking space right in front of the building.

  3. come on guys, handicap parking is a necessity…

  4. Michael… I am so glad I get the logic and humor on this site(other than that Joel guy… 😉 )

    I laughed out loud at your comment.

  5. Jesus did come for the afflicted, now that I think about it.

  6. jimmy paravane Says:

    There were parking spaces reserved for chaplains at the Hospital my wife was in the last 4 days. I thought along the same lines when I saw them. Until two different chaplains came in and talked to my wife and helped her feel safe and better. I’d stand in a pastor’s parking spot now with a baseball bat eying your windshield if you tried to pull into it.
    Ask anyone who’s pastor has done that for them and I bet they’d say the same thing.

  7. jimmy paravane Says:

    I’m tired and I don’t know if that came out right. What I meant was I’d guard that parking spot for the pastor if anyone else tried to pull into it. I can’t imagine a much harder job than trying to comfort his people in the hospital.

  8. Jimmy,

    I understood what you are saying, and at a hospital I am ok with that. The work they do there is important, and if someone calls them to a hospital for immediate pray, then giving them a quick place to pull into makes since.

    But at the church itself… Come on… Pastor’s need exercise also.

  9. CK – Took this one myself and it was right next to the front door. I know our Pastor needs the exercise.

    Tim – Changing the world…one parking space at a time.

    Michael – Ouch…in a funny way

    Jimmy – If you decide to stand in the parking spot with a bat, let me know so I can get a picture. Plus, I’d like to see someone try and park there.

    I do think the hospital spot is a little different as those are provided, not requested (at least that’s what I would like to think).

  10. This is unbelievable… no, I believe it.

    This is a hot topic issue for me… the whole pastor as a career garbage really bugs me…

  11. BuddyO….We love it when people cut through the chase.

  12. jimmy paravane Says:

    I don’t know. Maybe it’s just the feelings I’m going through now, but I think if you really know your pastor like you know a best friend, and all the burdens of all the people he has to carry from his house to the church into the counseling sessions and sermons and prayers, etc. ad infinitum, you wouldn’t begrudge him the distance between the back of the parking lot and the front. Maybe it would help to do that walking a few days in his footsteps, taking on all the responsibilities to get that across.
    Maybe I’m just wrong.

  13. I believe the example you are giving here is of a pastor that serves a single local church every week, but be careful you don’t generalize to every situation. When my dad was a young pastor he served three churches every Sunday morning, two in one time zone and third in a different. Later he served two churches in two different communities. For pastors like this that have to run between locations every Sunday morning a specific parking spot might be needed.

  14. Will Farel XV Says:

    Those of the pastors who preach the Truth should not have to walk until they are out of breath before they have to get up onto the very high pulpit to speak the Truth from on high. Before the age of individual motorised transport real pastors used to live right next to the sanctuary. That way they could just walk over from their place of holy separation for the purpose of study of the Truth to the sanctuary without lay people bothering him. The right way today would be to have a procession of people who can guard the pastor right from his home study to the sanctuary and onto the very high pulpit.

    Those of the pastors who don not preach the Truth should walk from their homes.

  15. Sherie then the question about the sign that would have to be answered.

    Was the sign requested by the pastor, or was it provided without request?

  16. jimmy paravane Says:

    OK, this is what drives me nuts about you aliens sometimes. You nitpick at some issue like yer gonna solve it among yourselves. Go ask your God already. If He tells you to spraypaint John 13:14-17 on the pastor’s parking spot, then go do it. Or whatever He wants. To paraphrase Cindy Beall; “I’m just sayin!”

  17. jimmy paravane Says:

    uh…unless He TOLD you to nitpick at this issue. Then nevermind. (grin)

  18. They’re right you know… do you have any idea what it would cost to fix a ding in a BMW Z4???

    Actually I think all pastors should get one of those ornate golden thrones that you see on TBN… one with the poles that slide through the arms so the deacons can hoist him up on their shoulders and carry him to his pulpit… that way he won’t get his armani shoes scuffed on the way up the aisle.

  19. […] Living by Example Posted on June 27, 2008 by Doulos Christou Check this out http://floatingaxhead.com/2008/06/25/pastor-parking/ […]

  20. gustavstaedtler Says:

    THE ONE WHO HATES THE TRUTH IS CURSED.
    THE ONE WHO HATES THE TRUTH IS CURSED FOR EVER.

    !!!. – WITHOUT TRUTH YOU ARE THE LOSER – FOREVER – .!!!
    !!!. – THE HOLY DIVINE JUSTICE-MACHINE IS ROLLING. –
    THE ONE WHO HATES THE TRUTH IS CURSED
    AND WILL BE ELIMINATED – .!!!  
    ©  Gustav Staedtler./. veritasindeum
    !!!.—- VERITAS — VENI — VIDI — VICI —–.!!!

  21. Bwaaahhhh.. ha ha aha ha ha ha …… [deep breath] .. bwahhh ahhhhhha hhaa

  22. Jimmy – Nitpicking is what we do best.

    Buddy – We feel a guest post coming.

    Gus – Well…what can we say that you haven’t already said.

  23. I’d be honored… you and I seem to be on the same page….

    I hardly have time to keep my own blog current…

  24. i feel like breaking out some scorpions after gus…

  25. jimmy paravane Says:

    gustavstaedtler OK, but don’t hold back. Tell us how you REALLY feel! Come on, were all nice aliens here. Well except me. I’m just nice. (grin)

  26. I TOO still would rightfully rather see pastor first live a sermon instead of too often now merely preach it to others and I really do think it is so farcical how some sinfully, proud evangelical pastors are ready to condemn others, to gossip about, to now preach about the other person’s sins but someone how they can’t seem to deal with their own false abuse of others, their own sins, and their own false pride.. http://postedat.wordpress.com/2009/08/31/get-real-now/

Leave a Reply

