White Men Can’t Listen

Romans 10:17 – “So then faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of God.”

Everytime I hear this scripture it reminds me of this line in White Men Can’t Jump:

“Look man, you can listen to Jimi but you can’t hear him. There’s a difference man. Just because you’re listening to him doesn’t mean you’re hearing him.”

How much time do we spend listening to God without hearing him?

Giving? I’m down with that. Just tell me who to write the check to. But don’t ask for too much because I’ve got big plans.

What? Give of my time. There are barely enough hours in the day for me right now.

Study the scriptures daily? Didn’t you hear what I just said?

Serve? Do you seriously expect me to hand out talk notes every Sunday? Have you seen the people who do that?

C’mon God, aren’t you listening to me?

Yes I am, but you aren’t hearing me.

5 Responses to “White Men Can’t Listen”

  1. Be still and know that I am God…

    John 10:27
    My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me.

  2. ck…i like the way shepherds trained the sheep too…when they wandered off, he broke one of their legs and then they would get used to his voice as he carried them on his shoulders…for when they were well…they would listen.

  3. Michael,

    And oh have I had my leg broken a few times…

    With our Shepard though, I wonder if he let’s us break our own leg sometimes?

  4. Oh how true, how true. I listen but dont hear. I hear but dont listen.

    I think I near a Godly hearing aide. Either that or maybe an angel to appear. that always seemed to do trick back in the Bible days!

    Gretchin

  5. Nice side discussion from CK and Michael.

    Greath – Or maybe an interpreter.

Leave a comment