Forgiveness

warrickdunnWarrick Dunn’s mother, Baton Rouge police corporal Betty Smothers, was killed on the morning of January 7, 1993, in an ambush at a local bank.

Two years later, the man who killed her, Kevan Brumfield, was sentenced to die.

In October 2007 Dunn visited Angola State Prison and spoke with Brumfield about a moment that changed his life like no other.

“I didn’t kill your mother. They got the wrong guy.”

He listened to Brumfield explain how, because of the life he had lived, he would have probably been dead by now if he hadn’t been arrested for this crime that he now claims he didn’t do … but to which he confessed.

After listening to Brumfield for a while longer, he  decided he wanted to tell him how that night changed his life.

Tears started to well in his eyes when he realized that he was laying it all on the line for a guy who had killed his mom. As he looked around the room, he realized everyone else in the room had tears in their eyes, too — Brumfield included.

“If you didn’t do it, I don’t know why you are here today, but I know why I am here today. I am here because I need to forgive somebody… It is time for me to forgive…”

Dunn realized that rather than seeking the answers to all of the questions he had for years, it was time to forgive.

What a great story….sometimes we don’t need to the answers, we just need to forgive.

5 Responses to “Forgiveness”

  1. Wow……I find it hard enough to forgive those who hurt my feelings, or make me angry….he displayed so much grace. Thanks for sharing that, I think more people need to hear this story.

  2. Can’t think of a thing to add.

  3. I’d like to think I could do that, but I don’t think I could.

    Thanks for sharing a great story.

  4. […] have some peace, I will forgive. When I find healing, I will forgive.  Floating Axhead posted an interesting story about a remarkable situation. Take a […]

  5. Forgiveness is the ONLY thing that will allow us to not only survive but too actually live our lives.

    http://mssc54.wordpress.com/our-american-hero/

Leave a Reply

